EPITAPH

 

When I die
Give what’s left of me away To children
And old men that wait to die
And if you need to cry
Cry for your brother
Walking the street beside you
And when you need me
Put your arms Around anyone
And give them
What you need to give to me
I want to leave you something
Something better Than words
Or sounds
Look for me In the people I’ve known
Or loved
And if you cannot give me away
At least let me live on your eyes
And not on your mind
You can love me most
By letting
Hands touch hands
By letting 
Bodies touch bodies
And by letting go Of children 
That need to be free
Love doesn’t die
People do
So, when all that’s left of me
Is love
Give me away

-Merrit Malloy

Leave a Reply

