The Little Prince

I just finished reading Le Petit Prince. It was a really fast read even though it took two days to complete it (I had to go to the salon and study for a test in between). I think the book was a really nice read.
In the book the narrator was stranded in a desert when he met ‘le petit prince’ who would tell him about his adventures and so on…
The book was about imagination, naiveness and sentiment which some “grandes personnes” (big people) lack. We are given quite a few examples of why big people should be less serious and more like children and each of them show us how strange these big people turn out to be at times. Why so serious? Life isn’t about counting money, possessing things or looking to be admired!

“People where you live,” the little prince said, “grow five thousand roses in one garden… yet they don’t find what they’re looking for…

They don’t find it,” I answered.

And yet what they’re looking for could be found in a single rose, or a little water…”

Of course,” I answered.

And the little prince added, “But eyes are blind. You have to look with the heart.”

Isn’t it surprising how in life the little things that are so often neglected are in fact the things that count the most : a small gift, a friend, the beach, a laugh…

The end made me cry. Especially this part : “On risque de pleurer si l’on s’est laissé apprivoiser” You run a risk of crying when you let yourself become attached.
– because you might be disappointed, separated…

Oh! And the part when ‘Le Petit Prince’ had to leave was just full of emotion and I must say that it was very heartbreaking…
There are two point of views of how ‘le petit prince’ is back in his little planet :
-that he is happy
-that he is sad because the sheep ate his flower
So did the sheep eat his flower or not?
The question of the sheep is a really big question, I think it’s about people who have lost someone they loved. Will they be happy in heaven or suffering in hell. What are you supposed to believe when there is no proof and you can’t go to ask.

If you have read the book, please join in the discussion, I would love to hear your opinion in the comments box below! Thank you, thank you, thank you…!!!

4 thoughts on “The Little Prince

  1. This is one of my favorite books! My favorite quote there is, “Where you very sad then, on the day that you watched 44 sunsets?” That hit me so hard because I did watch sunsets when I am lonely and I was actually watching one while reading that passage.

    Casual Attitude

Leave a Reply

